One of the reasons that Missouri law requires insurance is that the average person doesn’t have enough money in their savings account to pay for the cost of a collision. Even just repairing someone’s vehicle might add up to more than a negligent driver can actually afford.
The liability coverage required of all motorists under Missouri state law theoretically helps protect against scenarios where people get hurt in crashes and can’t make an insurance claim. Unfortunately, even when there is available coverage, people hurt in Missouri car crashes may quickly learn that it won’t pay for enough of their losses.
Mandatory coverage amounts are low
Lawmakers reviewing the liability insurance requirements for the state might shy away from increasing them because higher minimum policy limits will inevitably translate to higher annual premiums. Unfortunately, there are quite a few motorists on the road with coverage that technically complies with state law but won’t do enough to help those with catastrophic injuries after a crash.
The number of people affected by the wreck will determine how much insurance is available. A basic policy in Missouri will typically have at least $25,000 of coverage if one person gets hurt and up to $50,000 of coverage per crash when multiple people suffer injuries or die. In a scenario involving spinal cord injury, amputation, a brain injury or another medical issue that will require trauma care and weeks away from work, the available liability coverage may not be enough.
Therefore, victims affected by the crash will need to take their claim to civil court, where a judge can potentially award them an appropriate amount of compensation given the losses that they suffered. Recognizing why car crashes often lead to lawsuits can help those hoping to recoup their losses after a wreck better understand their legal options.